SCOTTSDALE, AZ (January 03, 2008) - NKK Switches, the world’s leading designer and manufacturer of innovative electromechanical switching devices, announces the release of the JWL series of DC-rated power rocker switches - the industry’s first molded rocker switches with a TV rating. These snap-in mounted switches, rated at TV-8, are designed to handle large inrush currents. In addition to the TV-8 rating, JWL-series rockers have UL, CSA and VDE approvals, with a flammability rating of UL94V-0.

The JWL family of switches has several distinctive and unique features. All versions are constructed for dust resistance with an interior seal of polyphenylene sulfide (PPS) between the actuator and contact area. Prominent external insulating barriers increase the insulation resistance and dielectric strength. The switch housing and case are made of polyamide, a heat resistant resin meeting UL 94V-0 standards. Terminals are molded in and epoxy-sealed to lock out flux, dust and other contaminants. They are specially designed to break light contact welds.

JWL rocker switches can be specified with integrated flat or barrier flanges. These switches are offered with black, gray or ivory housings and barriers. Rocker cap color options include black, gray, ivory and red. Optional accessories designed for the JWL include a watertight boot and a dust cover for additional protection in more extreme conditions.

Design engineers can configure SPST, SPDT, DPST or DPDT circuits. All single-throw models can be ordered with the international inscriptions for ON-OFF. These can be specified in vertical or horizontal orientation to accommodate placement in the panel.

The JWL devices are rated at 16A @ 125/250V AC. They also feature a rating of 5A @ 72V DC for applications such as a power distribution switch. Its capabilities exceed a 160A inrush load. TV-rated rocker switches such as the JWL series are used frequently by major telecom companies such as Nortel, Alcatel, Motorola and Ericsson.


Home    Site Map    About Us © NKK Switches, 2016